Nelson R Mandela School of Medicine – Sessional Dates 2020

By | June 21, 2020

Nelson R Mandela School of Medicine – Sessional Dates 2020

 

1 Mon, 02 – Fri, 06 Jan Tue, 03 Jan University opens
2 Mon, 09 – Fri, 13 Jan Mon, 09 Jan MBChB 6th Yr – Registration
MBChB 2nd Yr – Registration
Self-help registration system opens
Tue, 10 Jan MBChB 6th Yr – Block 1 commences
MBChB 2nd Yr – Lectures commence
MBChB 3rd Yr – Registration
Deadline for applications for re-marks
Deadline for submission of Exclusion Appeals
Wed, 11 Jan MBChB 3rd Yr – Lectures commence
3 Mon, 16 – Fri, 20 Jan Thu, 19 Jan MBChB 4th Yr – Registration & Orientation
Fri, 20 Jan MBChB 5th Yr – Registration & Orientation (in PMB only)
4 Mon, 23 – Sat, 28 Jan Mon, 23 Jan MBChB 4th & 5th Yr – Block 1 commences
Fri, 27 Jan MBChB 1st Yr – On-campus registration
Sat, 28 Jan Parents’ Day
5 Mon, 30 Jan– Sat, 04 Feb Mon, 30 Jan– Fri, 03 Feb MBChB 1st Yr – Orientation
 
6 Mon, 06 – Fri, 10 Feb Mon, 06 Feb MBChB 1st Yr – Lectures commence
Deadline for all transfer applications
7 Mon, 13 – Fri, 17 Feb    
8 Mon, 20 – Fri, 24 Feb Mon, 20 – Fri, 24 Feb MBChB 6th Yr – Block 1 Exam Week
9 Mon, 27 Feb – Fri, 03 Mar Mon, 27 Feb – Fri, 03 Mar MBChB 4th & 5th Yr – Block 1 Exam Week
Mon, 27 Feb MBChB 6th Yr – Block 2 commences
Fri, 03 Mar Final date for minimum fee payment required for student registration
Final date for 1st Semester registration
Final date for requests for extended DPs
10 Mon, 06– Fri, 10 Mar Mon, 06 Mar MBChB 4th & 5th Yr – Block 2 commences
Fri, 10 Mar Final date for submitting curriculum changes
Final registration date for returning Masters (by research) and Doctoral students.
Final day for capturing graduation decisions onto ITS for the students who had outstanding requirements.
(Honours, Bachelors, Diplomas and Certificates)
11 Mon, 13  – Fri, 17 Mar Fri, 17 Mar Final day for capturing graduation decisions onto ITS (Doctoral and Masters Studies)
12 Mon, 20 – Fri, 24 Mar Tues, 21 Mar Human Rights Day (Public Holiday)
13 Mon, 27 Mar – Sat, 01 April Sat, 01 (till Mon, 10 Apr) Graduation Ceremonies (WVL)
14 Mon, 03 – Fri, 07 Apr    
15 Mon, 10 – Fri, 14 Apr Mon, 10 – Fri, 14 Apr MBChB 4th, 5th & 6th Yr – Block 2 Exam Week
Tue, 11 – Wed, 12 Apr Graduation Ceremonies (PMB)
Fri, 14 Apr Good Friday (Public Holiday)
16 Mon, 17 – Fri, 21 Apr Mon, 17 Apr Family Day (Public Holiday)
Tue, 18 Apr MBChB 4th, 5th & 6th Yr – Block 3 commences
Fri, 21 Apr Final date for withdrawal from a module
Final date for withdrawal from the University (Semester 1)
Final timetable for main & supplementary exams released
17 Mon, 24 – Sun, 30 Apr Thu, 27 Apr Freedom Day (Public Holiday)
Sun, 30 Apr Final date for payment of 60% of fees for year registrations or 100%  for semester 1 registrations
18 Mon, 01 – Fri, 05 May Mon, 01 May Workers’ Day (Public Holiday)
19 Mon, 08 – Fri, 12 May Mon, 08 – Fri, 12 May  
20 Mon, 15 – Fri, 19 May Wed, 17 May MBChB 2nd & 3rd Yrs – DP refusals published
Thu, 18 May MBChB 2nd & 3rd Yrs – Lectures end
Fri, 19 – Tue, 23 May MBChB 2nd & 3rd Yrs – Study period
21 Mon, 22 – Fri, 26 May Mon, 22 – Fri, 26 May MBChB 4th & 5th Yr – Block 3 Exam Week
MMed Semester 1 – Assessment Week 1
Mon, 22 May MBChB 2nd & 3rd Years – Final date for submission of DP Appeals to School Offices
Wed, 24 May MBChB 2nd & 3rd Yrs – First Semester Exams commence
22 Mon, 29 May – Fri, 02 Jun Mon, 29 May – Fri, 02 Jun MMed Semester 1 – Assessment Week 2
MBChB 4th & 5th Yr – Semester 1 Study Week
MBChB 6th Yr – Block 3 Exam Week
MBChB 2nd & 3rd Yrs – Exam Week. Exams end Friday, 02 June for MBCHB 2nd & 3rd year students
23 Mon, 05 – Fri, 09 Jun Mon, 05 – Fri, 09 Jun MBChB 4th & 5th Yr – Semester 1 Supplementary Exams Week 1
MBChB 6th Yr – Semester 1 Study Week
MBCHB 2nd & 3rd years study break between exams
24 Mon, 12 – Fri, 16 Jun Mon, 12 – Thu, 15 Jun MBChB 4th & 5th Yr – Semester 1 Supplementary Exams Week 2
MBChB 6th Yr – Semester 1 Supplementary Exams Week
Mon, 12 Jun MBChB 2nd & 3rd Yrs – Supplementary Exams commence
Fri, 16 Jun Youth Day (Public Holiday) (no exams)
25 Mon 19 – Sun, 25 Jun Mon 19 – Fri, 23 Jun MBChB 2nd & 3rd Yrs – Selectives Week 1
MBChB 4th Yr – CEBP 3 Week 1
Mon, 19 Jun MBChB 5th & 6th Yr – Vacation commences
Ton, 19 Jun MBChB 2nd & 3rd Yrs – Supplementary Exams end
Sun, 25 Jun Eid-Al-Fitr (condoned absence)
26 Mon, 26 – Fri, 30 Jun Mon, 26 – Fri, 30 Jun MBChB 2nd & 3rd Yrs – Selectives Week 2
MBChB 4th Yr – CEBP 3 Week 2
Mon, 26 Jun MBChB 6th Yr – Block 4 commences
Fri, 30 Jun MBChB 2nd & 3rd Yrs – First Semester Ends
27 Mon, 03 – Fri, 07 Jul  Mon, 03 Jul MBChB 4th Yr – Vacation commences
MBChB 5th Yr – Block 4 commences
Supplementary Exam marks to be captured on SMS by 12h00
28 Mon, 10 – Fri, 14 Jul  Mon, 10 Jul MBChB 4th Yr – Block 4 commences
MBChB 2nd & 3rd Yr Semester 2 Lectures commence
Release of 1st semester results after Exam Boards at 00:01 am
Second semester registration commences
29 Mon, 17 – Fri, 21 Jul Mon, 17 Jul MBChB 1st years – Semester 2 Lectures commence
Final date for requests for extended DPs
Wed, 19 Jul Deadline for all transfers
Thu, 20 Jul Deadline for submission of Exclusion Appeals
Fri, 21 Jul Deadline for applications for re-marks
30 Mon, 24 – Fri, 28 Jul Mon, 24 Jul CEACOM meetings (College Exclusion Appeals Comm.)
On or before Thu, 27 Jul AEACOM meeting
Fri, 28 Jul Final date for payment of all fees required for student registration (2nd semester)
Final date for registration – 2nd Semester
Final date for submitting curriculum changes
31 Mon, 31 Jul – Fri, 04 Aug    
32 Mon, 07 – Fri, 11 Aug Mon, 07 – Fri, 11 Aug MBChB 5th & 6th Yr – Block 4 Exam Week
Wed, 09 Aug National Women’s Day (Public Holiday)
33 Mon, 14 – Fri, 18 Aug Mon, 14 – Fri, 18 Aug MBChB 4th Yr – Block 4 Exam Week
Mon, 14 Aug MBChB 5th & 6th Yr – Block 5 commences
34 Mon, 21 – Fri, 25 Aug Mon, 21 Aug MBChB 4th Yr – Block 5 commences
35 Mon, 28 Aug – Fri, 01 Sep Thu, 31 Aug – Fri, 01 Sep Eid-Al-Adhah (condoned absence)
Thu, 31 Aug Final date for payjment of all fees
36 Mon, 04 – Fri, 08 Sep    
37 Mon, 11 – Fri, 15 Sep Fri, 15 Sep Final date for withdrawal from the University (Sem. 2)
  Final date for withdrawal from a module
Final timetable for main and supplementary examinations released
38 Mon, 18 – Fri, 22 Sep Mon, 18 – Fri, 22 Sep MBChB 5th Yr – Block 5 Exam Week
Thu, 21 – Fri, 22 Sep Rosh Hashanah (condoned absence)
39 Mon, 25 – Sat, 30 Sep Mon, 25 Sep Heritage Day (Public Holiday observed)
Tue, 26 – Fri, 29 Sep MBChB 4th & 6th Yr – Block 5 Exam Week
Tue, 26 Sep MBChB 5th Yr – Block 6 commences
Sat, 30 Sep Yom Kippur (condoned absence)
40 Mon, 02 – Fri, 06 Oct Mon, 02 Oct MBChB 4th & 6th Yr – Block 6 commences
Wed, 04 Oct MBChB 3rd Yr – DP refusals published
Fri, 06 Oct MBChB 3rd Yr – Semester 2 Lectures end
MBChB 3rd Yr – DP appeals to be submitted to school office
41 Mon, 09 – Fri, 13  Oct Wed, 11 Oct MBChB 3rd Yr – Second Semester Exams commence
42 Mon, 16 – Fri, 20 Oct Thu, 19 Oct Diwali/Deepavali (Condoned absence)
43 Mon, 23 – Sun, 29 Oct Mon, 23 Oct MBChB 3rd Yr – Theme 3.6 commences
MBChB 1st & 2nd Yrs – DP refusals published
Tue, 24 Oct MBChB 1st & 2nd Yrs – Semester 2 Lectures end
Wed, 25 – Sun, 29 Oct MBChB 1st & 2nd Yrs – Study Period
Thu, 26 Oct MBChB 1st & 2nd Yrs – DP appeals to be submitted to school office
44 Mon, 30 Oct – Fri, 03 Nov Mon, 30 Oct – Fri, 03 Nov MBChB 5th Yr – Block 6 exam week
Mon, 30 Oct MBChB 1st & 2nd Yrs – Second Semester Exams commence
Final date for submission of College handbooks for 2020
45 Mon, 06  – Fri, 10 Nov Mon, 06  – Fri, 10 Nov MBChB 1st & 2nd Yrs – Exam Week
MBChB 4th Yr – Block 6 Exam Week
MBChB 5th Yr – Study Week
46 Mon, 13  – Sun, 19 Nov Mon, 13 – Fri, 17 Nov MBChB 4th Yr – Study Week
MBChB 5th Yr – Semester 2 Supplementary Exam Week 1
MBChB 6th Yr – Block 6 Exam Week
Tue, 14 Nov MBChB 1st & 2nd Yrs – Second Semester Exams end
Wed, 15 – Sun, 19 Nov MBChB 1st & 2nd Yrs – Break between Exams
Fri, 17 Nov MBChB 3rd Yr – Theme 3.6 ends
47
.
Mon, 20 – Sat, 25 Nov Mon, 20 – Fri, 24 Nov MBChB 4th Yr – Semester 2 Supplementary Exam Week 1
MBChB 5th Yr – Semester 2 Supplementary Exam Week 2
MBChB 6th Yr – Semester 2 Study Week
MMed Semester 1 – Assessment Week 1
Mon, 20 Nov MBChB 1st & 2nd Yrs – Second Semester Supplementary Exams commence
48 Mon, 27 Nov– Fri, 01 Dec Mon, 27 Nov– Fri, 01 Dec MBChB 4th Yr – Semester 2 Supplementary Exam Week 2
MBChB 6th Yr – Semester 2 Supplementary Exams Week
MMed Semester 1 – Assessment Week 2
Mon, 27 Nov MBChB 5th Yr – Vacation commences
MBChB 1st & 2nd Yrs – Second Semester Supplementary Exams end
Fri, 01 Dec Last day for submission of theses/dissertations to the Post-Graduate Administrative Offices for possible April 2020 Graduation
49 Mon, 04 – Fri, 08 Dec Mon, 04 Dec MBChB 4th & 6th Yr – Vacation commences
Fri, 08 Dec Supplementary marks to be captured on SMS by 12h00
50 Mon, 11 – Fri, 15 Dec Fri, 15 Dec Release of 2nd semester results after Exam Boards
(00:01 am)
Sat, 16 Dec Day of Reconciliation (Public Holiday)
51 Mon, 18 – Fri, 22 Dec Fri, 22 Dec University Offices close
52 Mon, 26 – Fri, 29 Dec Mon, 25 Dec Christmas Day
Tue, 26 Dec Day of Goodwill

Please note: The University of KwaZulu-Natal reserves the right to change any of the said Sessional Dates,   solely in its discretion, and without any liability for inconvenience and/or loss occasioned thereby.